• LAUREN SAMS

Author, writer, strong flat white please

Author, writer, book nerd from way back

 Lauren Sams Author Head Shot 

Lauren Sams is the author of She’s Having Her Baby and is currently working on its sequel. She’s also a freelance writer and her work has appeared in ELLE, marie claire, Cosmopolitan, Good Food, delicious., Sunday Style and dailylife.com.au.

She used to be Lauren Smelcher, then (confusingly) she was Lauren Smelcher Sams. She’s pretty set on Lauren Sams now, pending a call from Rob Lowe.

She lives with her husband, daughter and two dogs in Sydney. Elaine Benes is her spirit animal.

If you’d like Lauren’s thoughts delivered to your inbox weekly, you can sign up to her newsletter here.

Crazy Busy Guilty

 cbg 

The juggle is real . . .

Georgie Henderson is having a bad year. As a new – working – mum, she strives to be Sheryl Sandberg at work and Martha Stewart at home. But she’s discovering that in the twenty-first century being a Good Working Mum means answering emails at midnight while you purée vegetables and line up playdates and French lessons for your four-month-old daughter.

Georgie’s ex, Jase, gets 100 per cent of the credit for 5 per cent of the work, and her best friend, Nina, is on a ‘self-discovery’ journey that involves a 25-year-old bartender and a plan to become an artisanal florist. And all Georgie’s mum wants is for Georgie to find a man. Preferably the man who is the father of her child.

In Crazy Busy Guilty, Lauren Sams returns to the characters of She’s Having Her Baby and unpacks the realities of modern parenting with candour, humour and warmth.

Buy on AmazonBuy on Booktopia

She’s Having Her Baby

 she's having her baby book cover 

Georgie Henderson doesn’t want to have kids, but her best friend, Nina Doherty, has wanted to have a baby for as long as she can remember. Sadly, Nina’s uterus refuses to cooperate. One drunken evening, Nina asks Georgie for the ultimate favour: would she carry a baby for her? Georgie says yes . . . and spends the next nine months discovering what she’s got herself into.

With intense bacon-and-egg roll cravings, a foundering friendship and distant memories of what her feet look like, Georgie also tries to keep it all together in her dream job as the editor of Jolie, a magazine whose readership is shrinking as fast as Georgie’s waist is expanding.

She’s Having Her Baby is a funny and frank story about pregnancy, dating and modern parenting, and – ultimately – the indomitable power of female friendship.

Read an excerpt from She’s Having Her Baby.

Buy on AmazonBuy on Booktopia

These blog posts are republished from my weekly newsletter, Wine Time. You can read them here, or have them conveniently mailed to your inbox each week by signing up here.

Nice things people have said about my book …

 

She’s Having Her Baby is a fun, fast-paced, wonderfully clever and observant novel that should be required reading for the non-pregnant and the pregnant alike.”

Sloane Crosley, author of I Was Told There’d be Cake and How Did You Get This Number?

 

“I wish She’s Having Her Baby wasn’t a work of fiction so I could have a few wines with Lauren Sams’ characters, but if it has to be a novel, it’s a ripper.”

– Jessica Rudd, author of Campaign Ruby and Ruby Blues

 

“Such perfect holiday reading ought to come with a free pool lounger and frozen margarita. Fans of Jojo Moyes, Lauren Weisberger and Zoe Foster Blake will adore Sams’ novel. Like chick-lit only smarter, cooler and LOLzier.”

– Meg Mason, author of Say it Again in a Nice Voice

 

She’s Having Her Baby is the perfect novel for women in our generation. The novel portrays besties, pregnancy and motherhood better than any book I’ve ever read.”

Summer Land, author of Summerlandish

 

“Honest and sassy, She’s Having Her Baby deals with the joys, heartbreaks and messiness of fertility, babies and friendship. You’ll want to remember the one-liners and wish the main characters were your friends. ”

Kasey Edwards, author of Thirty-Something and Over It and Daily Life columnist.

 

“I was hooked within the first few pages! Lauren Sams explores the topical, sensitive issue of surrogacy in a fresh, smart and entertaining way, proving why she’s one to watch. It’s heartfelt and sassy, and a guaranteed conversation-starter.”

Gabrielle Tozer, author of The Intern and Faking It

 

“Fresh, funny and heart-warming, Sams’ novel is a testament to true love and friendship. I couldn’t put it down!”

Dilvin Yasa, author of Things My Daughter Needs to Know and Good Enough: Confessions of a Less-than-Perfect Mum

 

Book Clubs/Speaking Engagements

Do you have an event or book club coming up? I would love to be involved. I am Sydney based but can travel or Skype in as needed.

Please contact me at lauren@laurensams.com to chat about your event, and I’ll get back to you as soon as possible.

Call me, maybe?

Want to chat? Me too!

Send me an email and I’ll be in touch…

(If you can’t wait that long, you can also find me on Instagram, Twitter, Goodreads and Facebook.  Or sign up to my weekly newsletter, Wine Time, here. Or just email me. Go on.)

For speaking engagements and media requests, please contact my agent, Grace Heifetz at Curtis Brown Australia.